Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
The Native North American almanac: a reference work on native North Americans in the United States and Canada
Native peoples of the Northwest: a traveler's guide to land, art, and culture
Indians of Oregon: past and present
Tiller's guide to Indian country: economic profiles of American Indian reservations
The Continuum encyclopedia of native art: worldview, symbolism, and culture in Africa, Oceania, and native North America
Encyclopedia of Native American religions: an introduction
Encyclopedia of the American Indian Movement
Indigenous peoples and environmental issues: an encyclopedia
Native peoples of the world: an encyclopedia of groups, cultures, and contemporary issues
Encyclopedia of Native American music of North America
People of Color in the United States: contemporary issues in education, work, communities, health, and immigration.
Race and racism in the United States: an encyclopedia of the American mosaic
Social Issues in Living Color: challenges and solutions from the perspective of ethnic minority psychology
Ethnic American Literature
Encyclopedia of folk medicine: old world and new world traditions
Encyclopedia of Public Health: principles, people, and programs
Dictionary of Native American Mythology
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
Handbook of Indigenous Religion(s)
Indigenous Peoples: an Encyclopedia of Culture, History, and Threats to Survival by Native peoples of the world: an encyclopedia of groups, cultures, and contemporary issues
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
Routledge Handbook of Critical Indigenous Studies
The Routledge International Companion to Multicultural Education
The SAGE Handbook of Cultural Anthropology
Encyclopedia of medical anthropology: health and illness in the world's cultures
The Routledge encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology
Theory in social and cultural anthropology: an encyclopedia
