RHET 221: In-Class Presentation by Gary Klein, librarian for Rhetoric & Media Studies
Finding Information about Nationwide & International Non-Profit Organizations
- Encyclopedia of Associations = Offers objective descriptions of 150,000+ non-profit organizations, professional societies, hobby groups, fraternal organizations, public policy think tanks and issues oriented educational/political groups.
Books from the Hatfield Library on Fundraising & Handbooks for Nonprofits (over a dozen variety of E-books & physical books all designed to help nonprofit organizations with fundraisiing projects, and general help for nonprofit grouprs of all sizes)
How to Find Local Media; Newspapers, National magazines & Polls (detailed explanations)
If you are familiar with the nuances, then here are quick links to directly access the major resources mentioned in that guide:
- Searching the Lexis-Nexis Academic full text database to focus on Gallup Polls (you have to pick the keywords & time frame).
- Searching the full text database of The New York Times daily newspaper.
- Searching the Lexis-Nexis Academic full text database to focus on The Oregonian (the largest daily newspaper in the State of Oregon)
- Searching the Newspaper Source database to find articles in regional newspapers and transcripts of radio & television news programs.
- Searching the MasterFile Premier database to find articles in popular magazines & current events publications.
- Searching the Academic Source Premier database to focus on Vital Speeches of the Day (you have to pick the keywords or the name of the person giving the speech)
How to Use the LMAA / Local Market Audience Analyst database of US demographics & psychographics (detailed explanations)
What is the U.S. Census? What is in the Census? What is not in the Census? (WORD document - background & overview of major components; and a brief example of how to use it)
E-Books from the Hatfield Library on Designing Surveys (4 books to help you in the design of survey instruments, writing survey questions, and administerting questionnaires)
Demonstration of actual survey that was implemented from start to finish using SurveyMonkey.com
- This survey was used to identify certain policies within the context of academic libraries that support graduate programs in Education. SURVEYMONKEY's free services limit you to a maximum of 10 questions.
Reference Librarian |
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
|



Loading...
