This is the "Reference Materials" page of the "THTR 219: Theatre History II" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

THTR 219: Theatre History II  

Last Updated: Feb 23, 2014 URL: http://libguides.willamette.edu/thtr219 Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Materials Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference Resources

Listed on this page are key reference resources that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

 

Online Reference Sources


Great articles about dramatists can be found in the Dictionary of Literary Biography.  You can search for these articles by using the Literature Resource Center database.

 

Major Theatre History Reference Books

Cover Art
American Playwrights Since 1945: a guide to scholarship, criticism, and performance
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PS 350.A43
ISBN: 0313255431
Includes bibliographic essays, production histories and critical sources on modern American playwrights.

Cover Art
Asian American playwrights : a bio-bibliographical critical sourcebook
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PS 338.A74 A9 2002
ISBN: 0313314551
Alphabetically arranged entries provide biographical, critical, and bibliographical information about 52 Asian American playwrights.

Cover Art
The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 1861 .C65 2007
ISBN: 0231140320
An A to Z reference for modern drama. It highlights the interdisciplinary nature of drama by placing playwrights and plays within their social, cultural, and historical contexts. It focuses on drama in the literary sense rather than as performance. It also follows the development of modern theater in both Western Europe and Eastern Europe.

Cover Art
Critical Survey of Drama
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PR 623 .C75 1994
ISBN: 1587651025
Entries are arranged alphabetically by author. There is a list of the playwright’s principal works, literary forms, achievements, biographical information, analysis of his/her works and a bibliography.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Asian Theatre
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 2860 .E53 2007
ISBN: 031333529X
Alphabetically arranged entries present information about playwrights, directors, actors, places, themes, styles, costumes, and sets of both modern and traditional Asian theater.

Cover Art
Latin American dramatists since 1945
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PQ 7082.D7 H37 2003
ISBN: 031332333X
This resource compiles and locates biographical and bibliographical information of over 700 prominent Latin American dramatists of the late 20th century

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 1625.M3 1984
ISBN: 1884446000
Ranging from the earliest drama to the theater of the 1980's this encyclopedia includes coverage of national drama and theater around the world, theater companies, and musical comedy.

Cover Art
Major Modern Dramatists - Rita Stein
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference N7560 .H34 1974
v. 1. American, British, Irish, German, Austrian, and Swiss dramatists v. 2. Norwegian, Swedish, French, Belgian, Italian, Spanish, Russian, Czech, Hungarian, and Polish dramatists

Cover Art
Oxford Companion to American Theatre
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 2220.B6
ISBN: 9780195034431
The standard one-volume source on American theatre. Also available electronically in the Oxford Reference Online database.

Cover Art
The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference PN 2035 .W67 1994
Six-volume encyclopedia documenting artistic development around the world. Includes articles on playwriting, music theatre, dance theatre, theatre for young audiences, puppet theatre, design, architecture, technology, training, criticism, and scholarship.

9922075060001454

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music - Colin Larkin (Editor)
Call Number: Hatfield Library Reference ML102.P66 G84 1998
ISBN: 1561592374
Publication Date: 1998

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Profile Image
Doreen Simonsen
Contact Info
Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343
Send Email

Online Encyclopedias and More

  • Oxford Reference Online
    100 well-known and trusted dictionaries and reference books combined into a single cross-searchable web database.
  • Britannica Online
    The electronic version of the Encyclopaedia Britannica. An excellent starting point for almost any topic of research, the Britannica offers both concise descriptions, and longer, more comprehensive articles on a wide variety of topics.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip