These are links to US government sites that deal with geology. The US government publishes a huge amount of information, particularly with respects to US geology.
State geological surveys are great places for local geology and topographic maps. Different states have different policies about what they make freely available.
This is a search engine that searches documents from all science-related agencies in the US government. It's a great place to look for governmental reports or research if you're not sure which agencies might be involved. The search takes a while for to complete, so you'll need a bit of patience.
The EPA has a ton of great information dealing with the environment, but it's a frustrating site to use. I generally start by using the search box on the front page, or going to the A-Z index linked from the upper right corner.
The BLM deals with mining and national parks, among other things. There's not a lot of information here, but they do have some federal land records and legislation that deals with public lands.
An Internet resource for weather and environmental information in Canada. Green Lane TM helps connect Canadians, exchange information and share knowledge for environmental decision-making (Canada's EPA).
A good beginning resource to research international forestry, particularly in developing countries. Includes forest resources, management, production and services, assessment and monitoring, people and forests, sector analysis, institutions, and interdisciplinary issues.
Provides access to five searchable databases (plants and animals, protected areas of the world, forest statistics and maps, marine statistics and maps, and national biodiversity profiles).
This searchable site contains more than 8,000 links related to radioactive waste management. The content varies from government information on agencies, laws & regulations, technical reports, news, etc.
Web-based version of a wonderful publication by the USGS (which is in our Reference area, QH104 .S74 1997 v.1 & 2). Contains information on "the health of the nation's plants, animals, and ecosystems ...It synthesizes existing and new information about birds, mammals, fishes, plants, and other species and summarizes what is known about the status and trends of major U.S. ecosystems. The findings reported here offer valuable insight into both successes and failures in resource management and point the way to better management of biological resources in the future."
Provides access to citations for DOE technical reports from January 1, 1994 to present. The database is searchable by title, author, keyword, subject category and date of publication. Citations include a brief abstract and ordering information.
over 500 databases and Web sites containing information and resources pertaining to science and technology of interest to the Department of Energy, with an emphasis on the physical sciences. By the Office of Scientific & Technical Information.
The NLE currently posts 2137 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics. This site is maintained by the National Council for Science and the Environment.
Deals with "public policy issues relating to the cost-effective control of pollution in developing countries". Contains working papers, data and other resources.
Yet another example of how well the government is utilizing the Internet to disseminate information! This site has information (including fire ecology, fire effects, distribution and other general ecological information) for hundreds of species of plants and animals. Also includes an extensive list of references. Easy to navigate and use.
Contains information about geographic features in the United States. Includes feature name, type, location (including latitude, longitude and elevation), and a list of topographic maps. Also links to the Census Bureau's Tiger Map Server for location and the EPA's site for watershed information on each feature.
For geosciences, mathematics and computing. Includes the Virtual Geosciences Professor, applications for macintosh computers, and links to Computing & Geosciences.
Here you can search the CIESIN Gateway, access data (China Data Collection, Environmental Treaty Texts the Global Population Database and the Mexico Data Collection), use interactive applications, access information systems and instructional resources, all related to earth science.
"A collection of distributed information systems operated by government agencies involved in global change research." Includes data centers, educational resources, research projects and documents.
Provides access to over 3,900 data sets in the area of earth science, including atmosphere, biosphere, land surface, solid earth, and human dimensions of climate change.
Includes satellite data and information and links for glaciology, marine geology, geophysics and paleoclimatology. Also includes links to Science for Society and NGDC contacts.
Contains information about the USGS, including history, contacts, grant and contracts, customer service reports, fact sheets, publications and data. Includes links to other USGS sites (e.i. geology, biology, natural resources, mapping and water resources).
Covers information that reflect global change in the atmosphere, hydrosphere, cryosphere, and biosphere. The material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation.
Provides incisive summaries of current events and issues related to the Greenhouse Effect, such as global warming, sources of greenhouse gases, carbon dioxide sinks, sunspots, and international agreements.
Contains satellite data and information and links for glaciology, marine geology, geophysics and paleoclimatology. Also includes links to Science for Society and NGDC contacts.
Provides access to the report and other documents of the World Food Summit, held in 1996 in response to widespread undernutrition and growing concern about the capacity of agriculture to meet future food needs.
Provides access to EQIIS (image database), earthquake engineering abstracts, and engineering reports and publications. Headquartered at the University of California at Berkeley.
Includes the information about recent quakes, suggestions for preparedness and potential hazards, general information about earthquakes, and educational resources.
