Research Guides: IDS 101: Passion and Art: The Myth of Orpheus and Eurydice: Articles/Databases

LitFinder (Literature Database)

LitFinder (Partial full text)
Provides access to a broad span of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.

Classical Music Library (Streaming Music Database)

Classical Music Library
Includes recordings of music written from the earliest times (eg Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.

ARTstor (Image Database)

ARTstor provides a broad and deep general collection of images of world art and architecture, as well as special collections including Native American, Asian, American and European art.

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Academic Search Premier

Academic Search Premier (ASP) is a full-text interdisciplinary database that can filter to peer-reviewed and full-text literature. This is great resource for starting your research.

Online Encyclopedias

Grove Art Online
Contains the online version of the classic Grove Dictionary of Art, the best encyclopedia about Art.
Grove Music Online
Contains the online version of the classic New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the best encyclopedia about Music.

Useful Databases for Research about Your Topic

Art Full Text (1984 - present)
Provides coverage of all styles and periods of art. Indexes and abstracts over 600 international periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins.
Film Literature Index
Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
Music Index Online
Indexes over 725 international music periodicals offering a wealth of historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data.

Potentially Useful Databases for the Reception of Your Topic

America's Historical Newspapers
Provides full text to over 700 historical newspapers. Hatfield Library has series 1, which covers newspapers that began publishing in the colonial period, with some titles providing coverage into the later 1800s.
American Periodical Series Online (1740-1900)
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Included are special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals.
New York Times Historical (1851-2010)
Provides full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Full-Text Scholarly Databases

Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 400 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 2,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1600s. Over 46 million pages are now available.

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published. This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 5-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 3 min.)

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles. These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject. There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

IDS 101: Passion and Art: The Myth of Orpheus and Eurydice: Articles/Databases