Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.
New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
St. James Encyclopedia of Popular Culture
Dictionary of American History
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
American Countercultures
Class in America
Men and Masculinities
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments
The World of Musicals
The Encyclopedia of Popular Music
Music Business Handbook and Career Guide by 
The Firefly Visual Dictionary
America's Film LegacyYou can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
Library Hours
Mon-Thur 8 a.m. -- Midnight
Friday 8 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Saturday 10 a.m. -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- Midnight
Reference Hours
Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Saturday (Closed)
Sunday (Closed)
Archives Hours
Contact: archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.
Note: The library is open to the general public Monday-Friday from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m. and on Saturday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
