Research Guides: HIST 256: Colonial Latin America: Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Library Account Login

Use the button to find out what books and articles you have ordered via Summit, WorldCat and Interlibrary Loan.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Basic Databases for this Course

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations.
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete backfiles of more than 1,600 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s. Over 46 million pages are now available.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.

Specialized Databases for this Course

Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text from nearly 3,300 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,100 journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Fuente Academica
Provides full text coverage to more than 150 scholarly, academic Spanish language journals from Latin American, South American and Spanish publishers. All content is in Spanish and covers wide variety of subjects including politics, history, literature and education.
GreenFILE full text
A freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology.

Humanities and Fine Arts Librarian

Doreen Simonsen

Email Me

Contact:

Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-375-5343

Subjects: Art & Art History, Chinese, Cinema Studies, Classics, English, French, German, Global Cultural Studies, History, Japanese, Latin American Studies, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Russian, Spanish, Theatre

HIST 256: Colonial Latin America: Articles/Databases