This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

IDS 291: Transfer Colloquium: Reference

Authoritative Reference Sources vs Wikipedia

Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable.  College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source. 

Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.

Online Encyclopedias and More

Hours during the Academic Year

Library Hours


Mon-Thur    7:45 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Friday         7:45 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday    10 a.m -- 9 p.m.
Sunday      10 a.m. -- 2 a.m.

Reference Hours


Mon-Thur  10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
                    6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday         1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Saturday         (Closed)
Sunday           (Closed)

Archives Hours


Mon-Fri  9 a.m. -- 12 p.m.
              1 p.m. -- 4 p.m.

Note: The library is closed to the general public at 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday, and at 5 p.m. Friday, Saturday and holidays. The library remains open to students, faculty and staff with current Willamette ID.

More calendar info...

Reading

One of the library's goals is to promote reading.  To that end, we have established a popular reading collection, created READ posters featuring Willamette faculty and staff, designed rotating displays highlighting different subject areas of our collections, and created a reading website called WU Reads.  

Reference Books

Below are key reference books that provide a general overview of a topic or help identify synonyms, related terms, or basic data. These sources often include references and lists of further readings.

Subject Librarian

Joni Roberts's picture
Joni Roberts
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301
503-370-6741

What librarians can do for you...

Subject librarians are here to help with your research!

You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:

  • Show you the best places to begin your research.
  • Help you develop effective search strategies.
  • Locate the information you need within our library.
  • Obtain books, articles, cds, etc. from other libraries.
  • Find additional information from citation lists/bibliographies.
  • Judge the quality & reliability of information.
  • Use information ethically (e.g. plagiarism).
  • Cite information correctly (e.g. APA style).
  • Demonstrate how to use citation resources.
  • Tell the difference between various literature types.
  • Determine whether something is peer-reviewed.

Archives

The University Archives are located on the second floor of the library. The Archives collects, preserves and makes available University records of enduring value and primary source materials focusing on the Northwest.  The Archives will be of great interest to those interested in Willamette's history. The Archives also offers a wonderful collection of primary source materials focusing on the Northwest such as political papers and the Pacific Northwest Artists Archive. Special Collections include such treasures as a 15th century book of hours and a second folio edition of Shakespeare's plays. The Archives also features digital collections including Civil War letters and early photos/postcards of Willamette and Salem.