"Proud Music of the Sea-Storm." Atlantic Monthly
"The Poetry of the Future." North American Review
Specimen Days & Collect
The Poem of the Mind : Essays on Poetry, English and American by 
Walt Whitman: A Documentary Volume
I Was There: Five Poems of Walt Whitman: Baritone and Piano by 
To the Soul: Thomas Hampson Sings the Poetry of Walt Whitman
Walt Whitman's Own Copy of Leaves of Grass in the New York Public Library. (Photograph by Doreen Simonsen)
Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
Dictionary of American History
Encyclopedia of War and American Society
American Countercultures: an encyclopedia of nonconformists, alternative lifestyles, and radical ideas in U.S. history
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
Encyclopedia of Gay Histories and Cultures
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgendered History in America
Men and Masculinities
New Grove Dictionary of American Music
Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Images in the Dark
Critical Survey of Poetry
Oxford Companion to American Literature
Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography
Conversations with Walt Whitman by Library Hours
Mon-Thur 7:45 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Friday 7:45 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday 11 a.m -- 6 p.m.
Sunday 10 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Reference Hours
Mon-Wed 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m. / 6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Thursday 10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
Friday 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m
Sat-Sun (Closed)
Contact library@willamette.edu for a research consultation.
Archives Hours
Contact archives@willamette.edu for an appointment.
Appointments available:
Mon - Fri 9 a.m. -- 12 p.m. / 1 p.m. -- 4 p.m.
Note: The library is closed to the general public at 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and at 5 p.m. Friday, Saturday and holidays. The library remains open to students, faculty, and staff with current Willamette ID.
You can set up an individual research consultation with a subject librarian for research help. Here are a few other things that we can do for you:
Wikipedia is a great resource for getting general info about something, but because anyone can contribute or change its content it is considered unreliable. College faculty typically do not consider Wikipedia a credible information source.
Instead, use the library's print or electronic encyclopedias, dictionaries, or other reference books to backup the basic information of your research paper. These resources have gone through an editorial process to check for accuracy. To the right and below are some resources that may be of use.
