Research Guides: ANTH 150: Controversies and Issues in Cultural Anthropology (Dobkins): Articles/Databases

How To Find Articles

Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.
If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button. We might have e-access another way or have it in print.
If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. For customization & more info visit our Google Scholar page.

Terminology

Sometimes coming up with the appropriate terminology to use for a particular topic may be tricky and/or may require you to use lots of different terms in order to locate resources. Below are some ideas of additional terminology to use when looking for information on the "accordion family":

boomerang children

boomerang kids

parent and adult child

intergenerational families

adult children living with parents

adult children--family relationships

Potentially Useful Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles

Academic Search Premier
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. It offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 7,900 journals. Over 3,500 of the full text journals are peer reviewed. All articles are in English.
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
Anthropology Plus
Offers indexing of core periodicals, as well as lesser-known journals, from the late 19th century to today covering the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological & linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, and more.
AnthroSource
Provides 100 years of anthropological material online to scholars and the public. Includes a complete electronic archive of all AAA journals, access to archival content housed at JSTOR, and current issues for 15 of the most critical AAA peer-reviewed publications.
Business Source Premier
Provides full text from nearly 3,300 journals covering business, management, economics, banking, finance, accounting and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,100 journals.
Communications and Mass Media Complete (CMMC)
CMMC provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Ethnic NewsWatch Complete
Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Gender Studies Database
This database combines the Womens Studies International and the Mens Studies databases to provide coverage of gender related scholarship. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.
Health Source
Provides full text from nearly 270 periodicals covering nutrition, exercise, medical self-care, drugs and alcohol, and much more. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for over 430 periodicals.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Services)
Offers access to topics with an international focus, including public policy, public administration, government relations, governmental effectiveness, nonprofit organizations, political structures and international relations. Provides selective coverage of magazine and journal articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, government documents, and statistical directories.
Sociological Abstracts (Soc. Abs.)
Soc. Abs. provides citations to articles in over 3000 journals covering sociology, social work and other social sciences.

Databases Focused on Contemporary Issues

CQ Researcher
Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Opposing ViewPoints Resource Center
A one-stop source for information on current social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to Websites.

Finding Newspaper Articles

The databases listed below provide access to articles from a variety of newspapers and will help you locate a mainstream newspaper article.

Access World News
Full-text content of over 2,200 North American newspapers and more than 1,200 international newspapers, plus 300 wire services and over 200 broadcast news transcripts. Covers local, regional, and world issues, politics, government policies, sports, industries, cultural activities, schools, and the people and events in the community.
Newspaper Source
Provides selected full text articles from 143 U.S. and international newspapers.
New York Times (1980 - present)
Provides searchable full text.
Oregonian (Newsbank) (1987 to present)
The Oregonian is the major daily newspaper in Portland, Oregon, founded by Thomas J. Dryer in 1850. It is the largest newspaper in Oregon and the Pacific Northwest by circulation.
US Newsstream
Provides articles from worldwide news sources.
Wall Street Journal
Provides full text coverage of the worlds leading financial newspaper.

ANTH 150: Controversies and Issues in Cultural Anthropology (Dobkins): Articles/Databases