This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

BIOL 470-0: Endocrine Disruptors: Web Sites

Electronic Toxicology Encyclopedia

Take a look at the "facts about e-waste."Toxipedia is a free toxicology encyclopedia offering articles and resources about toxic chemicals (such as pesticides and endocrine disruptors), health conditions, ethical considerations, the history of toxicology, laws and regulation, and more. -- Website

Government Sites

  • Endocrine disruptor research initiative
    The United States Environmental Protection Agency’s Office of Research and Development has identified endocrine disruption as one of its top six research priorities due to its potential risk effects on human health. The program review and research...

News and Information about Endocrine Disruptors

  • Our Stolen Futures
    "The book Our Stolen Future brought world-wide attention to scientific discoveries about endocrine disruption and the fact that common contaminants can interfere with the natural signals controlling development of the fetus. This website tracks the most recent developments. "
  • Above the Fold
    You can set up a free subscription to this daily email service which provides daily news updates from the Enviromental Health Network.
  • NLM Environmental Health & Toxicology/Specialized Information Services
    "The Division of Specialized Information Services (SIS, http://sis.nlm.nih.gov/), National Library of Medicine (NLM), creates information resources and services in toxicology, environmental health, chemistry, and HIV/AIDS. Another component of SIS, the Outreach and Special Populations Branch (OSPB), seeks to improve access to quality and accurate health information by underserved and special populations."
  • NTP Center for the Evaluation of Risks to Human Reproduction
    "CERHR publishes monographs that assess the evidence that environmental chemicals, physical substances, or mixtures (collectively referred to as "substances") cause adverse effects on reproduction and development and provide opinion on whether these substances are hazardous for humans."
  • Basic developmental reproductive biology

Political Action

  • Alliance for a healthy tomorrow
    "A broad coalition in Massachusetts working to pass laws and policies that prevent harm to our health from toxic chemicals. Our top priorities are to create a groundbreaking program in Massachusetts to systematically replace toxic chemicals with safer alternatives that are better for workers and the environment, and to compel the Massachusetts Department of Health to use its authority to protect the health of children and vulnerable adults from the toxic chemical bisphenol A. "
  • EWG - Kid-Safe Chemicals
    Discussion of toxics policy reform.
  • Safer Chemicals, Healthy Families
    "The Safer Chemicals, Healthy Families coalition believes that, by reforming TSCA, we can reduce our exposure to toxic chemicals, improve our nation’s health, and lower the cost of health care. "

Reducing your personal pollution

  • EPA Environmentally Preferable Products
    Several databases from the EPA for selecting environmentally preferable alternatives when selecting products for building, electronics, cleaning, and other products or services.
  • EWG's Skin Deep - Cosmetic Safety Database
    "Skin Deep is a safety guide to cosmetics and personal care products brought to you by researchers at the Environmental Working Group."
  • Skin Deep - "What not to buy list"
  • EWG's Shoppers Guide to Pesticides
    "The Shopper's Guide to Pesticides is a key resource for consumers aiming for healthier diets. Since many shoppers can't find or afford organic produce, they can use the Shopper's Guide to avoid those conventional fruits and vegetables found to be highest in pesticides – the Dirty Dozen – and, instead, choose items from the Clean Fifteen list. "
  • EWG's Everyday Pollution Solutions
    "Your Guide to going green."
  • National Geographic Green Guide for Everyday Living
    "Intended for general consumers, GREEN GUIDE (in its book, magzine and online formats) shows people how to make small changes that add up to big benefits for their wallets, for their health, and, of course, for the health of the planet. "
  • Green Guide's DIY Household Cleaners
    Recipes for simple, effective and safe household cleaners.
  • Green Guide's Plastic Containers Buying Guide
    How to select the safest plastic containers.
  • Consumer Action Guide to Toxic Chemicals in Toys
    "HealthyStuff.org has tested thousands of toys since 2007. These test results are intended to help consumers with the information they need to make better choices when purchasing toys and other children’s products. "
  • Healthy Child, Healthy World
    "Child centered site for reducing the toxins in your home and in your family’s bodies."
  • NRDC GreenPaws Flea and Tick Products Directory
    "NRDC checked the listed ingredients of more than a hundred flea and tick products and found that many contain toxic chemicals that could poison pets and harm people, even when applied as instructed on the box. Pick from the list below, or use the search boxes to the right to find out about pet care products you are considering, which chemicals they contain and the level of risk they may pose."
  • CHE Toxicant and Disease Database
    Collaborative on Health and the Environment's database of links between chemical contaminants and human diseases or conditions.