This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Welcome: About the Hatfield Library

Library Fast Facts

Current Resources


Total Volumes:
430,000+

Titles:
340,000+

Books:
250,000+

Periodical Subscriptions:
25,000+

Sound Recordings:
5,500+

Databases:
130+

Video Recordings:
7,000+

Scores:
6,500+

Building


Year Built:
1986 (2-Story Building)

Public Seating:
607

Total gross sq. ft.:
58,000

Cost to Build:
$7,400,000

Quotes on Clock Tower By Mark O. Hatfield :
"Education brings national security."
"Dogma threatens liberty."
"Education finds fulfillment in compassion."
"Knowledge is the preface of peace."

Mark O. Hatfield Biography

Senator Hatfield at the dedication of the Mark O. Hatfield Library, Willamette University, 1986. © Jill Cannefax The staff of Willamette University's Mark O. Hatfield Library are proud to be associated with the library's namesake. Mark Odom Hatfield is a former governor of Oregon (1959-67) and United States Senator (1967-97).

More...

About the Library

The Mark O. Hatfield Library serves the College of Liberal Arts and the Atkinson Graduate School of Management. Originally part of what is now Smullin Hall, the library moved to its new location in 1986. Overlooking the Mill Race and adjacent to Jackson Plaza, the library is centrally located in the heart of the campus.
 

The Hatfield Library offers the Willamette community a diverse, well-chosen collection of over 425,000 volumes. The print collection, developed over more than a century, provides strong support for research. The library's collection of over 6,000 musical scores, over 5,000 sound recordings, and over 7,000 video recordings provides support for courses across the curriculum. The library provides access to more than 100 databases and over 25,000 print and electronic journal subscriptions. As a participant in the Federal Depository Library Program, the library has received selected government publications since 1969. The Hatfield Library also houses the University Archives and Special Collections.
 

The library's staff is committed to developing and maintaining services and collections to support the research needs of Willamette's students and faculty. Working together with faculty, librarians develop and teach course-related research sessions to ensure that students find the information they need and develop the skills required to locate and critically evaluate information. Students also receive research help at the reference desk, via phone, e-mail, text messaging or by scheduling a research consultation with a librarian.
 

The library is a founding member of the Orbis Cascade Alliance, a consortium of academic libraries in Oregon and Washington that provides a variety of services including expedited borrowing of materials for students, faculty and staff of member libraries. Participation in the Alliance enhances the local collection and the traditionally strong interlibrary borrowing services.
 

The Mark O. Hatfield Library is a vital public space on campus and includes many attractive areas suitable for study and reflection. Lectures, readings, and recitals are frequently held in the Mark O. Hatfield Room. The library contains numerous works of art and hosts a variety of exhibits throughout the year. A 24-hour study room equipped with vending machines provides student space during the hours the library is closed.

Hours during the Academic Year

Library Hours

Mon-Thur  7:45 a.m. -- 2 a.m.
Friday       7:45 a.m. -- 9 p.m.
Saturday      10 a.m -- 9 p.m.
Sunday        10 a.m. -- 2 a.m.


Reference Hours

Mon-Thur  10 a.m. -- 5 p.m.
                     6 p.m. -- 9 p.m.
Friday        10 a.m. -- 4 p.m.
Saturday         (Closed)
Sunday        3 p.m. -- 9 p.m.


Archives Hours

Mon-Fri  9 a.m. -- 12 p.m.
                1 p.m. -- 4 p.m.

NOTE: The library is closed to the general public at 9 p.m. Sunday through Thursday and at 5 p.m. Friday, Saturday and holidays. The library remains open to students, faculty and staff with current Willamette ID.

More calendar info...

Find the Hatfield Library