This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Welcome: Essential Resources

Off-Campus Access

Many library resources, such as the catalog and the journal finder, are available anywhere in the world without having to log in.

Most of the information databases and periodicals that the library subscribes to are also available off campus, but only to users affiliated with WU.

Log In Procedures

  1. At the Hatfield Library website, select a database to search.
  2. After you select a database, you will be asked for a username and password.
  3. In the username box, enter your Willamette log in name and password. DO NOT include @willamette.edu as part of your username.

Library Information for Students

Borrowing Materials

The student loan periods for Hatfield Library books and sound recordings is one month.  Videos check out for seven days.  All materials are subject to recall.  There is no limit on the number of items you may check out. Fines for regular overdue materials are $.10 a day per item; fines for overdue recalled materials or Summit materials are much higher.

For additional loan periods and rules, please visit the Loan Periods and Rules page.

Circulation

The Circulation Desk is on the first floor to the left as you enter the library.  Materials are checked out, renewed, returned, or placed on course reserve at the Circulation Desk.

Computers

Computers are located on both floors of the library and offer access to word processing, e-mail, databases, etc. Individuals with wireless laptops can use them throughout the library.

Confidentiality

The American Library Association’s (ALA) policy on the confidentiality of library records requires that librarians “protect each user’s right to privacy with respect to information sought or received and materials consulted, borrowed or acquired.”  In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act and ALA's policy on the confidentiality of library and student records, Hatfield Library staff protects the confidentiality of borrowers and does not release the name of a borrower of a particular book or other material.

Databases

The library provides access to over 125 different databases and/or electronic periodical indexes.  Most are available from the library's Web site. 

Display Area

There are two display cases on the second floor that are available for small exhibits.  If you have ideas for possible exhibits, please contact us!

Hatfield Room

The Hatfield Room located on the second floor is designed to accomodate small events such as music recitals, poetry readings, and special lectures that are sponsored by a campus organization or department.  The room is not available for classroom use.  For further information or to reserve the room, contact Scheduling, Events, and Conferences.

Interlibrary Loan

If the Hatfield Library does not own a particular book that you need and it is not available through Orbis Cascade Alliance/Summit, you may request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  We will then try to borrow it for you from another library.  Also, if our library does not provide access to a particular journal, you can request a copy of a journal article through ILL.  ILL requests usually take three to ten days to be delivered and there is no charge to you for this service.  Typically, reference materials and rare books cannot be borrowed through ILL.  Many libraries do not loan dissertations or audiovisual materials as well.

Interlibrary Loan request forms are available electronically on the library's Web site.  You will be notified when a book arrives and it will be held at the Circulation Desk for you to pick up.  Journal articles will be delivered electronically; you will be contacted through e-mail with instructions on how to access the article over the Web.

Library Account

You can access your library account from the library's Web site.  Clicking on "Account Login" will allow you to access your personal library record to find out what you have checked-out, see if you have any overdue materials, etc.

Library Catalog

WU Worldcat on the Library's homepage offers access to information regarding materials of all kinds in the Willamette libraries, the Orbis Cascade Alliance libraries (also referred to as Summit libraries), and libraries around the world. 

You can also search for just items in Willamette's libraries (this includes holdings for the Law Library) through the WU-only Catalog available on the homepage.

Library's E-mail

The library's general campus e-mail address is library@willamette.edu.  Email is checked at least once a day during the semester except for Saturdays. Members of the library staff have individual e-mail accounts; see Staff List for e-mail addresses.

Library Hours during the Academic Year

         Monday - Thursday                  7:45 a.m. - 2 a.m.

         Friday                                     7:45 a.m. - 9 p.m.

         Saturday                                10 a.m. - 9 p.m.

         Sunday                                   10 a.m. - 2 a.m.

The Library closes to the general public at 10 p.m., Sunday through Thursday and at 5 p.m. Friday and Saturday but remains open to students, faculty and staff with a current Willamette. ID.  Any changes in these hours will be posted at the library entrance, on the library's Web site and through the Library hours' phone line (x6610).

Library Instruction

Library instruction was developed to assist students with the complexities of library research.  In library instruction sessions, librarians offer students guidance in research tools and strategies.  Typically, sessions are held in the library classroom on the second floor of the library. 

Orbis Cascade Alliance/Summit

The Orbis Cascade Alliance (commonly referred to as Summit) is a consortium of over 35 academic institutions in the Northwest; members include University of Oregon, Oregon State University, Reed College, University of Washington, and Whitman College just to name a few.  Through automated borrowing, Willamette students, faculty and staff may borrow materials directly from member libraries.  Currently this service is available primarily for books and government documents; some libraries allow short-term loans for audiovisual materials and bound journals.  The loan period for books and government documents is six weeks and for audiovisual materials it is 6 days; currently there are no renewals available.

Periodicals

Information regarding the Hatfield and Law libraries' periodical holdings is available on the library's Web site under “Journal Finder.”  This will allow you to determine if the library owns a particular title or if it is available in any of our full-text databases.  Print copies of periodicals are located on the first floor and shelved alphabetically; they do not circulate.

Photocopiers, Microform Readers/Printers and Scanners

The library has photocopiers available for use; the library also has microform readers/printers and a scanner. 

Recall

Library materials that are needed for course reserve or by another patron are subject to recall.  When a recall notice is issued, a new, earlier due date is automatically assigned.  If you receive a recall notice, return the item by the new due date.  Once you return the item, you may put a hold or recall on that item to reserve it when it is returned or you can request the item through Summit, which may be faster.  Any item is eligible for a recall after it has been checked out for 3 to 14 days, depending on the material type.  Books needed for course reserve are subject to recall after they have been checked out for five days.  For further explanation of the recall procedure, please inquire at the Circulation Desk.

Reference Service

The Reference Desk is located on the first floor of the library.  Reference assistance is available during most of the hours that the library is open, and the reference desk is staffed from 10 a.m. - 9 p.m. M-Th, 10 a.m. - 4 p.m. Fr, and 3 p.m. - 9 p.m. Sundays during the regular semester.  You can contact reference staff with your questions by phone or email. You can also send reference questions from the Library's Web site or by instant messaging "hathelp." You can contact set up an individual research consultation with a librarian as well.

Renewals

Hatfield Library materials can be brought to the Circulation Desk for renewal; one renewal is allowed online.  The library does not accept telephone renewals.  To renew materials online, go to the library's Web site and click on the "Library Account" button in the top right corner.  Any item may be renewed as long as another borrower does not need it.  All renewed materials are subject to recall.

Research Consultation

Librarians offer individual research consultation appointments for help with research; appointments can be made by filling out the online consultation appointment form, asking at the Reference Desk, or emailing a subject librarian.

Reserves

Faculty may place books and audiovisual materials on reserve at the Circulation Desk; past exams will be made available electronically.  Access to electronic course reserves is restricted to the instructor teaching the course and individuals enrolled in the course.

Senior Loans/Extended Check-out

Willamette juniors or seniors who are working on their senior thesis or project may borrow thesis-related, circulating library materials on an extended basis from the Willamette Library.  Seniors need approval from their Faculty Advisor or Senior Seminar Professor to use this service.  For more information, ask at the Circulation Desk.

Social Media

Check out the social media sites that the Hatfield Library has including Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, and the Hatfield Library Blog

Sound Recordings

Sound recordings are located on the second floor and include primarily classical music, jazz and some world music.   Recordings are organized by record label such as SONYCLAS for Sony Classical.  CD players are available in audiovisual rooms.  Also, the library provides access to streaming music (American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music and Jazz Music Library) that you can access on your computers...check out these collections!

University Archives and Special Collections

Willamette’s rich academic, cultural, and social history is documented in official and unofficial records housed in the University Archives. Materials open for research include: yearbooks, periodicals, theses, catalogs, faculty papers, records of administrative offices and student organizations, photographs, scrapbooks and memorabilia.

Special Collections consists of primary and secondary materials relating to the Northwest. Primary source materials include a foundation collection of political papers, which are currently being processed and are not yet open to the public.  Other primary source materials include personal papers of Willamette alumni and the Pacific Northwest Artists Archive. Secondary materials are comprised of a small collection of old and or rare books and a growing historical and modern collection focusing on the Northwest. Additionally, the Honorable Mark O. Hatfield’s book collection is available for in-house use and is listed in the Library’s catalog.

University Archives and Special Collections is open Monday through Friday from 9:00 a.m. to noon and from 1 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Video Recording Room

Anyone from the Willamette Community can checkout the Audio Visual Room for four hours. This room has a camera and microphone system that allows one to record practice presentations or anything viewed or listened to on the computer in the room such as PowerPoint Presentations. The software on the computer is called Tegrity which also allows users to share their recordings.

Videos/DVDs

Videos are located on the first floor of the library.  Audiovisual rooms and equipment are available, including an international VCR and DVD player.  You can locate video recordings in the library’s catalog; search for a particular title just like you would a book. 

Web Site

The library’s Web site provides access to library catalogs, various newspaper and periodical databases, reference resources, electronic journals and much more.  It also includes librarian-developed subject guides to Internet resources and information about library services.  You may access the site at http://library.willamette.edu.

How to Find...

These guides will help you find and locate other types of information.