This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Psychology: Web Resources

Writing Center

 

Having problems writing your paper?  The Writing Center offers individual appointments with a writing consultant. 

Writing Center
(503-370-6959)
 

Location:
The Writing Center is located on the Salem Campus, in the ground floor of Matthews Hall, across from the Montag Center. 

Hours:
Mon-Thu: 10am - 4pm, 7-9pm
Fri-Sat:    Closed
Sun:        6pm to 9pm

Web Resources for Psychology

Selected Sites

American Psychological Association's PsycOnline
PsycOnline are the official webpages of the American Psychological Association. It includes information on such things as employment opportunities, APA books, journals and conferences, and stories from the APA's "Monitor on Psychology".
Social Psychology Network (SPN)
SPN is based at Wesleyan University and it contains links to thousands of psychology-related resources. Includes information on PhD programs, research groups, journals and more. Topics covered include prejudice and discrimination, gender, culture, social influence, interpersonal relations, group behavior, aggression, etc.

Mental Health Issues

Internet Mental Health
This site was designed by a Canadian psychiatrist and it is described as a "free encyclopedia of mental health information." Its purpose is to share information on mental disorders, treatments, and research. It includes booklets from professional organizations and support groups, as well as articles from national magazines, professional newsletters, and newspapers.
Mental Health Net (MHN)
This nicely organized resource offers access to mental health topics of all kinds. It is divided into four sections: Current news; Read & Listen; Resources, and Topics. MHN is sponsored by CenterSite of Columbus, Ohio and is directed by a clinical psychologist.
National Alliance for the Mentally Ill (NAMI)
"NAMI is a nonprofit, grassroots, self-help, support and advocacy organization of consumers, families, and friends of people with severe mental illnesses, such as schizophrenia, major depression, bipolar disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and anxiety disorders." This site has book reviews, informational fact sheets on various mental illnesses and treatments, position papers, and more.
National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)
"NIMH conducts and supports research nationwide on mental illness and mental health, including studies of the brain, behavior, and mental health services." NIMH is part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This site contains press releases, information on grants, conferences, and research reports all dealing with aspects of mental health.

Style Guide

APA Style Documentation
This contains excerpts from the 6th edition of the APA's Publication Manual, which serves as the "style guide" for formatting footnotes & bibliographies in many student written research reports.

Music Therapy

American Music Therapy Association (AMTA)
"AMTA was founded in 1998, its purpose is the progressive development of the therapeutic use of music in rehabilitation, special education, and community settings. AMTA is committed to the advancement of education, training, professional standards, credentials, and research in support of the music therapy profession." This site contains information about Music Therapy, careers, publications, conferences and more.
 
British Society for Music Therapy (BSMT)
"BSMT was founded in 1958 by Juliette Alvin and colleagues to promote the use and development of music therapy. Today it disseminates information, and organises conferences, workshops and meetings."

Reference Librarian

Gary Klein's picture
Gary Klein
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301

Work phone: #503-370-6743

Gary's general work schedule (Fall 2019):
Mon, Tue, and Thu = 9:30am -- 6:30pm; Wed = 1pm -- 9pm,; Fri = 9:30am -- 5:30pm and by appointment at other times.
Website