This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

History: Web Sites

History Sites

American History

American Memory
A collection of texts, photographs and other materials describing the American past. From the Library of Congress
American Slave Narratives
Offers transcripts of selected slave interviews from the WPA. Also provides an introduction to the sources, commenting on the importance of the narratives for research, and explaining inconsistencies and gaps in the narratives.
Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention Home page
Contains 274 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Includes extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.
Documenting the American South
A collection of primary sources on Southern culture, history, and literature. Coverage from the colonial period through the early 20th century. Sponsored by the Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, it includes five separate sections: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; the Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; and, the Church in the Southern Black Community.
The Great Depression--The Stock Market Crash and Beyond
A collection of texts, photographs and links to web sites related to the Great Depression.
Making of America
Over 650,000 pages, from 1601 books and 10 journals, documenting American social history are available from this site, which is provided by the University of Michigan's Digital Library Initiative. The full text of these documents is searchable; this constitutes only the first phase of this promising project.
National Archives (NARA)
Provides access to the holdings and databases of the NARA. Includes information on grants, records management, archives, and preservation.
A Chronology of U.S. Historical documents
Provides access to primary documents and speeches ranging in time from the Magna Carta to the present.

Ancient History

Byzantium: Byzantine studies on the Internet
A vital site for Byzantine studies, as well as late antiquity and the Middle Ages. Access to several search engines is supplied as well as an image collection, texts, and academic teaching resources.
Diotima: materials for the study of women and gender in the ancient world
Includes bibliographies, course materials, sources of visual images, and texts dealing with women in the ancient world.
The Perseus Project
"Perseus is a continually growing digital library of resources for studying the ancient world." It includes ancient texts and translations, philological tools, maps, art catalogs, and essays on such topics as vase paintings. This important resource for classical studies originated at Tufts University.

Archives and Manuscript Collections

National Archives (NARA)
Provides access to the holdings and databases of the NARA. Includes information on grants, records management, archives, and preservation.
Harvard University Library--A Selection of Web-Accessible Collections
A collection of web accessible image and archival collections, including links to sources dealing with history, music and law.
Yale University Library: Manuscripts & Archives Digital Images Database
A collection of primary and secondary sources from Yale's extensive collections.

Documents and Texts

Avalon Project at the Yale Law School
Provides reproductions of documents relevant to law, politics, economics, and history, over a wide range of years.
Continental Congress and the Constitutional Convention Home page
Contains 274 documents relating to the work of Congress and the drafting and ratification of the Constitution. Includes extracts of the journals of Congress, resolutions, proclamations, committee reports, treaties, and early printed versions of the United States Constitution and the Declaration of Independence.
Documenting the American South
A collection of primary sources on Southern culture, history, and literature. Coverage from the colonial period through the early 20th century. Sponsored by the Academic Affairs Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, it includes five separate sections: First-Person Narratives of the American South; Library of Southern Literature; North American Slave Narratives; the Southern Homefront, 1861-1865; and, the Church in the Southern Black Community.
A Chronology of U.S. Historical documents
Provides access to primary documents and speeches ranging in time from the Magna Carta to the present.

European History

German Propaganda Archive
A growing collection of propaganda material from Nazi Germany and the German Democratic Republic, in English translation. Contains two types of material: the propaganda itself; the materials that were used to instruct the propagandists themselves. Attempts to include only material not available elsewhere
History On-Line
A database of some 30,000 records with a British slant. Searchable categories include: books, journals, and articles published in the United Kingdom; history theses completed since 1900 in the UK, as well as those in progress; seminars and conferences; and, a listing of higher education history teachers in the UK.
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
The official Web site of the Holocaust Memorial Museum offers archive and library holdings, a photographic archive, teaching materials and transcripts of recent programs and presentations.
REESWeb-Russian and E. European Studies Internet Resources
This comprehensive index provides links to a vast number of sites concerned with Russia and Eastern Europe, offering access to information by discipline, including history, politics, and science, as well as by type of material provided, i.e., document repositories, software, databases. It is sponsored by the Center for Russian and East European Studies, at the University of Pittsburgh.

History of Science

History of Medicine Archives from the National Library of Medicine
Provides Web access to books, manuscripts, prints, photographs, audiovisuals and articles in the NLM's History of Medicine Division, as well as information on other services.
Center for the History of Physics, the American Institute of Physics
Offers online access to exhibits, educational programs, archives, reference services, and the catalog of the Niels Bohr Library.
Einstein Archives Online
A collaborative effort of the Einstein Papers Project at the California Institute of Technology and the Albert Einstein Archives and the David and Fela Shapell Digitization Project at the Jewish National & University Library, the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, this site provides access to digitized versions of Einstein's scientific writings, his non-scientific writings and his travel diaries. It also includes an archive of over 43,000 Einstein related items.

Medieval History

The Castles of Wales
This site has detailed information on over 170 different Welsh castles, as well as abbeys and religious monuments. There is an alphabetical listing of the castles, and photos of the sites can be viewed in the Castle Photo Gallery. The site features historical essays and perspectives on a variety of topics, including the different types of castles, the people who built them, castle siegecraft and defense, and the fate of Welsh castles after the Norman conquest. There is also information on reference materials, castle terminology, a bibliography, and a collection of annotated links.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Provides coverage of journals, book reviews and essays in books concerning women, gender, and sexuality in the Middle Ages.
The Labyrinth: Resources for medieval studies
This site features a variety of resources, from bibliographies to actual texts, for everyone from undergraduate to advanced scholar.
NetSERF: the Internet connection for medieval resources
Frequently updated, NetSERF serves as an index to medieval resources available on the Internet, organizing them into various subject areas, for example, culture, history, and religion.

Renaissance History

WESSWEB Medieval and Renaissance Studies
Provides access to scholarly resources for Western Middle Ages and the Renaissance. Includes information for commercial products as well as free sites, all of which have been carefully selected and evaluated.

Oregon History

Oregon Digital
A joint project of the University of Oregon and Oregon State University, the collections are composed of unique digitized and born digital materials including photographs, journal articles, sheet music, manuscripts, ephemera concerned with the history and culture of Oregon.
Oregon Encyclopedia
A comprehensive and authoritative compendium of information about Oregon's history and culture, created through a partnership between Portland State University, the Oregon Council of Teachers of English, and the Oregon Historical Society.
Oregon Historical Society
Provides access to the resources held by the OHS, in Portland. Click on "Collections" to find listings for books, photographs,artifacts, moving images, manuscripts, oral history, and maps.
Oregon State Archives
Provides access to holdings in the Oregon State Archives, including the records of politicians, state, local, and federal agencies, and special projects.
Columbia River Basin Ethnic History Archive
A joint project of Washington State University and the Oregon Historical Society, among others, provides access to a digital archive that collects the records, images, remembrances, and artifacts of the Columbia River region.

Social History

International Institute of Social History
This site covers the activities, collections and selected publications of this important historical organization. Focusing on labor history, it offers more than 2,000 archival collections, an audiovisual collection, and almost a million imprints.

Women's History

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Provides coverage of journals, book reviews and essays in books concerning women, gender, and sexuality in the Middle Ages.
Women Working, 1870-1930(Open Collections Program, Harvard University Library)
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the US economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.

World History

The Library of Congress: country studies
This site provides online versions of 85 of the Country Studies (known also as Area Handbooks) series.
WWW-VL-History
A meta-site containing links to internet resources in all areas of history. Classified by major headings: Methods and materials, Eras and epochs, Historical topics, and Countries and Regions.