This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Citation Styles: Chicago

APA, Chicago, CSE (Biology), MLA, Cite Internet Sources, Citation Tools, and Other Citation Styles

Writing Center

  
   

Having problems writing your paper?  The Writing Center offers individual appointments with a writing consultant. Writing Center Consultants will give honest feedback about where the writing confuses them, or loses them, particularly interests them, leaves them needing additional explanation or support, and the like. They can help writers to organize their arguments more effectively by asking them, for example, what the organizing principle at work in the current draft is.

Writing Center Web Page
(503-370-6959)

FORD HALL HOURS

  • Sun 3:00-9:00 pm
  • Mon 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Tue 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Wed 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Thu 3:00-9:00 pm

HATFIELD LIBRARY HOURS

  • Mon 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Tue 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Wed 6:00-9:00 pm
  • Thu 6:00-9:00 pm

Support for students whose home language is not English will also be provided. Appointments are available for signup on the WISE site, Writing Center, with those of all other consultants.  Print forms are available in the Writing Center (Ford 105)

LOCATION
The Writing Center is located on the ground floor of Ford Hall (Room 105). 

Chicago Style Guide

The Chicago style tends to be used with the humanities (e.g. literature, history, arts). The library has an online subscription, and the print edition is located in the citation manual collection by the reference desk.

The Chicago Manual of Style presents two basic documentation systems, the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date system. Choosing between the two often depends on subject matter and nature of sources cited, as each system is favored by different groups of scholars.

The humanities style is preferred by many in literature, history, and the arts. This style presents bibliographic information in notes and, often, a bibliography. It accommodates a variety of sources, including esoteric ones less appropriate to the author-date system.

The more concise author-date system has long been used by those in the physical, natural, and social sciences. In this system, sources are briefly cited in the text, usually in parentheses, by author’s last name and date of publication. The short citations are amplified in a list of references, where full bibliographic information is provided.

RefWorks Transitioning to Zotero

NOTE: We will transition to Zotero soon after the end of the spring 2017 semester. RefWorks will be available to use throughout the summer and 2017 fall semester, during which time current RefWorks users will be encouraged to transition to Zotero. Our library staff will be able to help with the transition. 

RefWorks is a web-based bibliography management and citation tool. Import references from databases, library catalogs, generic web sites, and more. It converts to hundreds of citation formats quickly and easily. 

Zotero is a free, open source browser app that collects, manages, cites, and shares your research sources. It lives right in your web browser, and has a similar design to the iTunes library. 

 

For help with either RefWorks or Zotero, or questions concerning the transition please contact:
John Repplinger jrepplin@willamette.edu 503-370-6525
Bill Kelm, bkelm@willamette.edu, 503-375-5332