This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

Database Search Boxes: Ebsco Search Box Builder

Ebsco Search Box Builder

If you would like to build your own EBSCO search box, go to the following URL and follow the steps.  You can even combine multiple EBSCO databases into one search box. 

1. First verify that we have the database(s) and if it is available through EBSCO by launching it from our database list.  It should open to the standard EBSCO interface of blue, green and white with the round "EBSCO" button near the top.

2. Go to http://support.ebscohost.com/eit/sbb.php and follow the five steps. 
     The only things you need to modify are:

     STEP 1  Set Search Parameters
     Choose your databases (e.g. Academic Search Premier and Medline)

     STEP 2  Select Authentication Parameters
     For the proxi prefix, type: https://ezproxy.app.willamette.edu/login?url=

     STEP 3  Choose a Search Box Design
     Change the title to include the databases you selected (e.g. ASP & Medline)

     STEP 4  Customize the Layout

     STEP 5  Confirm Your Search Box
     Click the "Create Search Box" button to get the code.

3. Copy the code and paste it into the html of your web page and save it. 
     The code should look something like this:


<script src="http://supportforms.epnet.com/eit/scripts/ebscohostsearch.js" type="text/javascript"></script>
<form action="" onsubmit="return ebscoHostSearchGo(this);" method="post">
<input id="ebscohostwindow" name="ebscohostwindow" type="hidden" value="1" />
<input id="ebscohosturl" name="ebscohosturl" type="hidden" value="https://ezproxy.app.willamette.edu/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&site=ehost-live&scope=site&type=1&db=&db=aph&db=awh&db=cmedm&db=sph" />
<input id="ebscohostsearchsrc" name="ebscohostsearchsrc" type="hidden" value="url" />
<input id="ebscohostsearchmode" name="ebscohostsearchmode" type="hidden" value="+" />
<input id="ebscohostkeywords" name="ebscohostkeywords" type="hidden" value="" />
<div style="background-Image:url('http://supportforms.epnet.com/eit/images/ebscohost.gif');background-repeat:no-repeat;height:66px;width:375px;font-family:Verdana,Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;font-size:9pt;font-weight:bold;color:#353535;">
    <div style="padding-top:5px;padding-left:150px;">
        <span style="font-weight:bold;">ASP, AltHealth, Sport Discus</span>
        <div>
            <input id="ebscohostsearchtext" name="ebscohostsearchtext" type="text" size="23" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;margin-left:0px;" />
            <input type="submit" value="Search" style="font-size:9pt;padding-left:5px;" />
            <div id="includeFT">
                <input type="checkbox" id="chkFullText" name="chkFullText" style="margin-left:0px;"/><label for="chkFullText">Full Text</label>
            </div>
        </div>
    </div>
</div>
</form>

Select EBSCO Search Boxes (Health & Human Physiology)

This example search box includes the following databases through EBSCO:
Academic Search Premier, AltHealth Watch, PubMed (Medline), and Sport Discus.

Health & Human Physiology
Limit Your Results

Sustainability Databases

Sustainability Databases
Limit Your Results

This search box searches five databases at one time including:
Academic Search Premier (general)
Agricola (agriculture)
Business Source Premier (business)
GeoRef (geology)
GreenFile (humans & the environment)