Environmental Science: Agriculture

United States Department of Agriculture umbrellas other agencies including agriculture, nutrition, food, laws & regulations, marketing, trade, natural resources, the environment, science research, travel, and recreation.

Census of Agriculture - 2017 Census Publications - State and County Profiles - Oregon.

The Oregon Farm Bureau is the state's largest general agriculture organization.

Oregon soil survey data consist of maps, text, and tables. The links to the "Online Soil Maps" will take you to the national Web Soil Survey site. The report text can be viewed using an internet browser or downloaded. By the Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Pesticides division of the Oregon Department of Agriculture.

Plots places within Portland Oregon that have edible plants. Search by location.

USDA resources for local food systems.

Wiki site for Willamette Valley Agriculture. By Professor Kimberlee Chambers at Willamette University.

This resource by Washington State University includes information on orchard management for pests, soil, weather, etc.

NewCROP (New Crops Resource Online Program) is an information-rich site related to crop plants and the growing diversity of crops. It is a project of the Purdue University Center for New Crops and Plant Products and is associated with the New Crop Diversification project and the Jefferson Institute.

CropScape maps out the various cropland data layers according to year.

The NASS is one of the main statistical gathering units of the USDA, and publishes U.S., state, and county level agricultural statistics for many commodities and data series including crops, livestock, costs and prices, demographics, and environmental aspects of agriculture. Data can be retrieved by commodity, watershed, state, county, nationally, and by year.

2017 Census of Agriculture Publications by Watersheds.

Agricultural Statistics is published each year to meet the diverse need for a reliable reference book on agricultural production, supplies, consumption, facilities, costs, and returns.

Census of Agriculture - 2002 Census of Agriculture - Rankings of Market Value.

FAOSTAT provides time-series and cross sectional data relating to food and agriculture for some 200 countries.

This resource list the food basket prices (store retail price) for farm produce. It includes prices of produce from the farm & retail prices (what customers pay at stores).

Fruit and Tree Nuts Outlook, which is presented in a newsletter format five times a year by the ERS/USDA, provides current intelligence and forecasts the effects of changing conditions in the U.S. fruit and tree nuts sector. Topics include production, consumption, shipments, trade, prices received, and more.

Provides access primarily to older issues of important, heavily used NAL serial publications, such as the Agricultural Economic Report, Agriculture Handbook, and Yearbook of the U.S.

This includes the agricultural outlook statistics & annual reports by the ERS/USDA for various produce and commodities (vegetables, fruits, meat & dairy production).

USDA National Agricultural Statistics Service - Quick Stats. This includes overall U.S. & all states county data.

Includes the ERS/USDA Vegetables and Melons Outlook, and Annual Yearbook Reports. For past reports, go to: http://usda.mannlib.cornell.edu/MannUsda/viewDocumentInfo.do?documentID=1212

AgEcon Search is a free, open access repository of full-text scholarly literature in agricultural and applied economics, including: working papers, conference papers, and journal articles.

An online collection of some of the most influential and important American cookbooks from the late 18th to early 20th century. By Michigan State University Library and the MSU Museum.

A multitude of FAO databases for: global agricultural water management, agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food aid, land use, population, crops, livestock, irrigation, land use, fertilizer, pesticide consumption, agricultural machinery, forestry.

This resource list the food basket prices (store retail price) for farm produce. It includes prices of produce from the farm & retail prices (what customers pay at stores).

Food Science Central is maintained by IFIS (International Food Information Services) and covers food science & technology information

Your "one-stop shopping" resource for the Northwest Grocery Industry. The Northwest Grocery Association, a not-for-profit organization of the grocery retailers, wholesalers, suppliers, brokers, buyers and manufacturers serving the needs of our industry and their customers in Oregon, Washington, and Idaho.

Price Spreads from Farm to Consumer: At-Home Foods by Commodity Group (ERS/USDA Data).

FDA, an agency of the Department of Health and Human Services, consists of nine centers: Biologics Evaluation and Research, Devices and Radiological Health, Drug Evaluation and Research, Food Safety and Applied Nutrition, Veterinary Medicine, Toxicologica.

This is an inventory of bioengineered foods: identifies who & when each food was consulted by the FDA; notification file number (BNF No.); IDs the food crop that was modified; describes the intended effect of the modification; provides the developer's distinctive design; provides the date of the agency's letter; and hyperlink to the text of that letter.

ISAAA presents an easy to use database of Biotech/GM crop approvals for various biotechnology stakeholders. It features the Biotech/GM crop events and traits that have been approved for commercialization and planting and/or for import for food and feed use with a short description of the crop and the trait. Entries in the database were sourced principally from Biosafety Clearing House of approving countries and from country regulatory websites.

This blog focuses on food politics, with over 100 contributors to the dialog about the American food system and its global effects, as well as sustainable agriculture and food systems.

Find Farms, markets, restaurants, and more in the United States and Canada.

A Guide to green living and green companies for a variety of products.

This is a rich collection of environmental news and commentary since 1999.

Find farmer's markets, family farms, and other sources of sustainably grown food in your area, where you can buy produce, grass-fed meats, and many other goodies.

Find a local farm where you can pick your own food.

The Natural Resource Defense Council provides this resource to look up what is in season anywhere in the United States.

Find local chapters, read the blog, or become a member of the Slow Food Movement which seeks to connect communities and the environment.

An excellent resource for educating yourself and the public about the benefits of eating local, sustainable food.