This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

IDS 101: Income Inequality, Poverty, and a little Economics: Articles / Databases

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

How To Find Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.  Find it at Willamette

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection. 

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).  Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Google Scholar Search

What is Peer-Review?

Peer-review is an evaluation process in which qualified individuals within specialized field of study reviews literature before it becomes published.  This process helps keep standards held by the profession, improves the quality of work being published, and provides credibility & reliability to published work & authors publishing the work. The 3-minute video below describes and discusses the importance of peer-review and its process.

(NCSU video, 3 min.)

Joint search of BUSINESS and ECONOMICS databases

This executes a joint search of an Economics database and a Business database, with results limited to "peer reviewed/scholarly journals":

Quick Search: 2 databases for Business & Economics


Business Source Premier is a full-text database of academic journals, trade magazines and news magazines focusing on all aspects of business, management, public administration, public policy and some coverage of economics.

Econ-Lit is a full text database of academic journals, conference papers, books and "working papers" focusing on theoretical & practical aspects of economics, as well as international development and allied disciplines from the social sciences.

Quick Search of PsychINFO

PsycINFO is a psychology database. It indexes over 1,300 professional journals in the field of psychology and related disciplines in more than 30 languages. It also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.

PsycINFO
Limit Your Results

Quick Search of 2 History Databases

This executes a joint search of 2 database that cover the literature of History, with results limited to "peer reviewed/scholarly journals":

Quick Search: 2 databases covering History


America History & Life is a full-text database of academic journals, popular magazines and social commentary on the history of North America.  It also provides access to books, book reviews, chapters of books, and dissertations.

Historical Abstracts is a companion full text database providing coverage of world history that took place outside of North America.  It provides coverage of academic journals, popular magazines, books, book reviews, chapters of books and dissertations.

Other Useful Databases for this Course

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles.  These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject.  There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.