This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

IDS 101: Queer Drama: AIDS, Race, and the Performance of Sexuality: Archives

the Paul Wynne Collection

The Paul Wynne Journal is a compilation of 20 short videos documenting Paul Wynne’s struggle with AIDS. It aired on San Francisco television between January and June 1990.

Watch the Paul Wynne Journal

Paul Wynne was a 1965 graduate from Willamette University, a U.S. Army veteran, and a journalist. While at Willamette, he served on the yearbook staff, was a member of the Willamette University Players, the lead actor in several theater productions, and wrote two class songs used in Freshman Glee. Wynne was also a member of the Sigma Alpha Epsilon fraternity. In 1969, he moved to San Francisco to work as an entertainment contributor, receiving an Emmy in 1981 for outstanding achievement in commentary and analysis.

In 1987, Wynne was diagnosed with AIDS. He decided to share his story and raise awareness for the disease through video segments to be aired on local news stations. Segments of the Paul Wynne Journal began airing on January 11, 1990. The final segment, on June 20, 1990 served as the opening for the San Francisco AIDS conference. Paul Wynne died on July 6, 1990. He was 46 years old.

The Collection

The Paul Wynne Journal collection contains master and composite video tapes of Wynne’s Journal. Also included in this collection are letters that Wynne received in the wake of airing the program, as well as other professional work Wynne completed as a newscaster.

The Yearbook

Check out the Wallulah to see how students commemorated their years at Willamette.  At present covers 1903 to 1950.  More years are coming soon!

Archives and Special Collections

Digital Collections

Below are links to the Archives digital image collections. You can search or browse all of these collections on the Archives website.

 

Finding Aids

Below are Finding Aids for collections that contain photographs and historical documentation about Salem and Willamette University. Click on the image to go to the full Finding Aid.

A Finding Aid is a document that describes what you can find in an archival collection. The Finding Aid will tell you what kind of information you can find, how big the collection is, the dates covered, and a listing of the materials found in the collection. 

University Archivist

Mary McRobinson's picture
Mary McRobinson
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library

900 State Street

Salem, OR 97301

503-370-6764

University Archives and Special Collections

Visit the Archives

Mark O. Hatfield Library / Second Floor

Monday - Friday

9 a.m. - Noon / 1 p.m. - 4 p.m.

Website:

http://library.willamette.edu/archives/

Questions?

Contact Ashley: asharrat@willamette.edu or 503-370-6147

Articles

Browse the Collegian for articles on Willamette buildings, commemorations, and history.

            06-02-1938

Search or browse The Scene magazine for Willamette History and images.