This page contains enriched content visible when JavaScript is enabled or by clicking here. Skip to main content
 

IDS 101: Consumer Culture in Africa: Articles/Databases

Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

How To Find Articles

  1. Use the databases listed on this page to find articles.

  2. If it isn't available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.  We might have e-access another way or have it in print. 
  3. If we don't have it, order the article through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

If you're off-campus, you will be prompted for your Willamette username & password.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

Quick Search of Business & Economics Databases

This executes a joint search of an Economics database and a Business database, with results limited to "peer reviewed/scholarly journals":

Business databases search



Business Source Premier is a full-text database of academic journals, trade magazines and news magazines focusing on all aspects of business, management, public administration, public policy and some coverage of economics.

Econ-Lit is a full text database of academic journals, conference papers, books and "working papers" focusing on theoretical & practical aspects of economics, as well as international development and allied disciplines from the social sciences.

EXAMPLE of recent articles about Conspicous Consumption in African countries

These citations come from a joint search of Business Source Premier and EconLit databases.

Loading ...

PsycINFO (EBSCO)

PsycINFO is a psychology database. It indexes over 1,300 professional journals in the field of psychology and related disciplines in more than 30 languages. It also includes references to book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports.

PsycINFO
Limit Your Results

Quick Search of 2 History Databases

This executes a joint search of 2 database that cover the literature of History, with results limited to "peer reviewed/scholarly journals":

History databases search



America History & Life is a full-text database of academic journals, popular magazines and social commentary on the history of North America.  It also provides access to books, book reviews, chapters of books, and dissertations.

Historical Abstracts is a companion full text database providing coverage of world history that took place outside of North America.  It provides coverage of academic journals, popular magazines, books, book reviews, chapters of books and dissertations.

Other Useful Databases for this Course

All Databases at Willamette

Databases are how articles are indexed; indexes primarily tell you that articles exist opposed to providing the full-text of articles.  These databases cover literature that is related to this subject area. The full list of WU database is available by alphabetic list or subject.  There are also guides available to walk you through how to find materials.

Reference Librarian

Gary Klein's picture
Gary Klein
Contact:
Mark O. Hatfield Library
Willamette University
900 State Street
Salem, OR 97301

Work phone: #503-370-6743

Gary's general work schedule (Fall 2019):
Mon, Tue, and Thu = 9:30am -- 6:30pm; Wed = 1pm -- 9pm,; Fri = 9:30am -- 5:30pm and by appointment at other times.
Website