Research Guides: ENGL 213: Finding the Story: Articles &amp; Databases

Searching the MLA International Bibliography

MLA International Bibliography
Indexes critical material on the modern languages, literature, linguistics, and folklore. Provides access to 3,000+ journals, as well as to book chapters, proceedings, etc.
Keyword Search vs. Subject Search in the MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO
A short tutorial about search strategies.

Ethnic Newswatch

Provides a rich collection of articles, editorials and reviews with a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints from the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic and minority press.
Searches can be limited by Document Types or Ethnic Groups.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. You can customize Google Scholar to recognize Willamette-owned materials (visit our Google Scholar page for more info).

In the Google search box type your topic as if it were a mathematical formula, such as:

"Chicano Poetry" OR "Chicana Poetry" +queer

Put phrases in quotes, such as “"Texas-Mexico Border”.
Try the phrases with different spellings or languages

How To Find Articles

If an article is not available in full-text, click the "Find It!" button.

This will check if we have access through a different database and our print collection.

If we do not have access, you will be given an option to order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL). Fill out the form and click "Submit." It takes about 2 business days to get articles.

Book Review Digest

Book Review Digest
Call Number: MOH Ref. Index
.
Example of a printed index that is digitized in the HathiTrust database.

Using the MLA Thesaurus

Finding a Subject Database

Other Useful Databases for this Course

Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 4,450 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals.
America History and Life
Provides access to scholarly literature on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, book and media reviews, and dissertations.
American Periodical Series Online
Provides indexing and full text to over 1,100 periodicals that first began publishing between 1740 and 1900. Included are special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and other historically-significant periodicals. 1740-1900
Gender Studies Database
A multidisciplinary, full-text database that brings together relevant content from mainstream periodicals, gray literature, and the alternative press, with a focus on the critical issues and events that influence women's lives in more than 190 countries.
HathiTrust
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving 17+ million digitized items. HathiTrust offers reading access to the fullest extent allowable by U.S. copyright law, computational access to the entire corpus for scholarly research, and other emerging services based on the combined collection.
Historical Abstracts
Provides access to international scholarly literature on the history of the world, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, books, and dissertations
JSTOR
Provides access to the complete back files of more than 322 cross-disciplinary academic journals in digital format, some of which date from the 1800s.
LitFinder
Provides access to a broad span of literary works and secondary-source materials covering world literature and authors throughout history. Including more than 150,000 full-text poems and over 800,000 poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
Project Muse
Provides online access to the full text of over 100 journals in the disciplines of literary studies, classics, history, philosophy, political science, and the history of science and medicine.
Readers Guide Retrospective
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. Coverage: 1890 - 1982

ENGL 213: Finding the Story: Articles & Databases